CHRIS REA live in Bucharest, Romania (2010)

A gift from an old friend

When you grow up with someone, you tend to miss certain aspects of their personality. You overlook the bad, but you also overlook the good. Take your parents for example; they drive you crazy with questions regarding computers but you love them anyway. They nag, and they don’t always understand, but they are always supportive and they love you. You love them too, but growing up with them has made you blind to their awesomeness. Also, you only understand and agree with them as you get older.

I grew up with Chris Rea. He was there, on the radio, everyday, doing what he does best. I was young and I didn’t understand his music very much. It wasn’t something that made me change the station, but it seemed more like my parents’ music. I imagined them dancing to Josephine. If only that were true… I was loud and impulsive and my music meant high pitched voices and good looking guys with long hair. Actually, that wasn’t a must, but always a nice touch…

I think the highlight of Chris Rea’s fame in Romania was achieved with 1989’s “Road to Hell” and 1990’s “Auberge”. I hummed and danced to those singles just like anybody else, but Chris Rea was more like the father I wouldn’t have time to listen to in real life. Nice, loving, but always greeted in passing.

A recent compilation my best friend did for us encapsulated timeless gems from wonderful musicians. Among them, Chris Rea. I swear to God it was like listening to music after taking out my ear plugs.

My world is miles of endless roads
That leaves a trail of broken dreams
Where have you been
I hear you say?
I will meet you at the Blue Cafe

You can’t understand songs about life without living first. You think you understand love when you’re young, but you’re like a kid who just received his Christmas present. Tearing impatiently the wrapping paper, overwhelmed with excitement.

I will meet you at the Blue Cafe
Because, this is where the one who knows
Meets the one who does not care
The cards of fate
The older shows
To the younger one, who dares to take
The chance of no return

Nowadays I tend to do things slowly and thoroughly. I no longer tear my wrappings, enjoying the moment of discovery. Musically I’ve come a long way too. I still listen to the music of my generation, the bands I liked as a teen, but boy, nobody can twist your mind like an old, mature artist.

My best friend invited me to the first Chris Rea concert in Romania. We really wanted to attend, but I think we secretly felt like endulging in seeing our father on stage with a Guitar Hero kit.

And then the show kicked off. And then we were speechless. A bluesy song with a simple strong bass line and an unmistakable voice. The crowd was delirious. The sound was close to perfection, allowing each note to reach your heart and sink in like pieces of a well-played Tetris game.

Chris Rea live in Bucharest, Romania – Feb 6, 2010
The Very Best of Chris Rea Tour

Sometimes a man with a guitar can tell so much. The show lasted over 2 hours with a Chris Rea that managed to expose us to the most amazing range of emotions known to man: from sadness to extasy, from nostalgia to happiness, from heart wrenching blues to shameless lusty, sexually charged feelings. We were like potty in his hands and we loved every minute of it. Chris Rea’s passion for music was the secret ingredient for a night to remember. That night was a gift for everyone present. A gift from an old friend.

Seeing Chris Rea live after growing up with his music was like seeing my father on stage. And realizing “Oh. my. God. My dad is cool!”

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment